AZ Barbeque.com

New dude here

Discussion started on

autorotator

Hey guys/gals.
I'm very new to smoking. I had an electric smoker when I was back in Oklahoma, couldn't fit it on the trailer so I had to donate it. Not too awful upset about it though, it was a non adjustable temp one.
A buddy of mine is giving me his smoker and it's a pretty nice one. It's got the wood box on one side and the grill part is a little smaller than a 55 gal barrel. Anyway, I used hickory while in OK and got some very pleasant results. As I understand it, here in AZ, pecan is mainly the wood of choice. If there is a beginners guide on here, I would greatly appreciate if someone pointed me in the right direction. I will be picking up my smoker tomorrow and will want to get to smokin' right away. Thanks for reading and any help.

Taker easy

Cliff M.
#1 - August 13, 2009, 02:50:06 pm

KidCurry

Welcome...I do not know if there is a "newbie guide" per say but some liberal use of the search function followed by a few question should get you going!! 

When you get it, we would love to see some pics of your smoker!!

Once again Welcome!
#2 - August 13, 2009, 02:54:27 pm
KidCurry@AZBarbeque.com
KCBS CBJ
Mike boils his ribs....pass it on.

RudedoggAZ

Welcome Cliff! I'm a newbie as well and foud this site to be very helpful and the people on here are great with discussions. I'm sure you will get up and running in no time and definitely make sure you check out the daily posts.

#3 - August 13, 2009, 03:08:41 pm

Crash

Welcome Cliff. 
We use apple, cherry, hickory, peach, pecan...depending on what we are cooking.  Just post up whatever questions you have and you should receive a quick response.
#4 - August 13, 2009, 03:22:19 pm
I love animals.  They're delicious!
VRM Pit Crew

autorotator

Yeah that was quick! Thanks for the rapid response. I look forward to picking your brains. Thanks alot!
#5 - August 13, 2009, 03:30:36 pm

smitty250