AZ Barbeque.com

Looking for tips on different woods

Discussion started on

JaySyn

I am kinda new to smoking for the most part, usually just threw a handful of hickory chips on the charcoal when doing burgers or steaks mostly, but I am getting into doing some different things lately, even going as far as considering building a UDS.  So far, I have done a few racks of ribs with some apple chunks, and used mesquite on the fire during camping trips, but now I am planning to do some more serious cooks.  I don't have the experience to get out there and get competitive, but I definitely love to cook some good meats.  There are a few woods that I have been a bit curious about, and a few of them seem to be pretty abundant locally.  I was thinking about trying some citrus woods, like orange or lime.  I would think lemon would be good for certain types of fish, like salmon, but I don't have a lot of experience, like I said.  I have also seen some Jack Daniels oak barrel chips that seemed like they would make an interesting cook.  Any suggestions from some of you that have been smoking longer than I have?  I am also a little interested in learning cold smoking, but that will likely come with time.  I'm not trying to learn anyone's secrets (unless someone wants to give them to me :D), but just looking to learn a few things that might make my Q much better.
#1 - January 14, 2013, 12:26:35 am

Crash

We always keep apple, cherry, peach, pecan and oak on hand.  We use apple and cherry on pork and pork ribs, peach for chicken and oak or pecan for our brisket.  We use apple on all of the fish we smoke.

Check out fruitawoodchunks.com for great pricing shipped direct to your door.  They have the best selection and quality that we have found anywhere.  A lot of very good teams are using the fruitawoodchunks products.

Best of luck.
#2 - January 14, 2013, 11:35:16 am
I love animals.  They're delicious!
VRM Pit Crew

Mark