AZ Barbeque.com

The newb says Hi

Discussion started on

Otis857

Greetings and salutations to all,
   I just discovered Az BBQ.com and registered today. Im new to this forum but not new to BBQing. Im an Az native and just 3 years shy of being a 2nd generation native. Im a paint and body man by trade and have worked for APS going on 28 years now. My personal hobbies include cooking (of course), Skiing, Offroading and chilling at our cabin in the Blue Ridge area.

My bbq experiance has been strictly backyard primarily with different gas grills over the years. But the past 2 years, I have stepped up my cooking skills and lately, I have got into smoking. My 3 kids pitched in and bought me a Bar B Chef offset smoker which I have used for the last 2 years with some very tasty results. I signed up for Jeff (?) newsletter at Smokingmeat.com out of Tulsa and have found some great advice there. But here, I hope to meet some local experts and get the home town flair as well.

This last summer, I shot the wad and bought a Bull BBQ Island with a 5 burner Angus grill, which Im quite happy with. This purchase coincided with a patio extension for an outdoor kitchen area. Now, Im looking to go with a Propane smoker to integrate with the island and have my cooking equipment in one place. My research has led me to your forum and I hope to find some great techniques and recipes that will further my smoking and grilling skills. And Im sure I will be looking at what you guys use for smokers too.

Happy Grilling,
Mike

#1 - December 02, 2010, 03:54:17 pm
Mike
Of all the things I've ever lost, I miss my mind the most.

AzQer

Well we sure are glad you found us Mike, So where are you from in Arizona. I'm also a native and cant imagine being somewhere else. You come to the right place to read about BBQ we have a lot of experience on this site. Just ask away and enjoy.
#2 - December 02, 2010, 05:29:30 pm
Mark Smith
Southern Arizona BBQ Club Ambassador
MarkSmith@AZBarbeque.com

azkitch