AZ Barbeque.com

Hello from the East Valley

Discussion started on

The_Pebble

Hi all,

My name's Rob but all my friends call me Pebble, both online as well as in real life.

I've had the privilege of living in both Missouri and Texas, and I'm a huge fan of both Texan and K.C.-influenced barbecue.  However, I have zero experience with making my own 'cue.  I just bought a secondhand CharGriller smoker and I'm looking forward to learning as much as I can about the craft.  I will say that one of my main concerns right now is finding a good source for reasonably-priced wood, so any hints would be greatly appreciated.

I'm know I'm going to be asking a lot of "newbie" questions until I increase my knowledge and skill set, so bear with me :-)

Thanks,
Pebble
#1 - November 10, 2009, 12:03:58 pm

jmcrig

Rob, to start with, welcome aboard. To answer your wood question, Berry Brothers or BBQ Island. It just depends on quantity needed. Both are great sponsors of this site.
I grew up just north of KC, live in Gilbert, but in San Antonio for work at the moment. Go figure.
Anyway, feel free to ask any questions. We all started somewhere.
#2 - November 10, 2009, 12:12:45 pm

AzJohnnyC

Welcome Pebble. Ask away, you'll probably get more answers than you want. I highly recommend that you check ou the "Upcoming Events" thread and try to come to Pulte this weekend. Glad to have you here. Enjoy the site!
#3 - November 10, 2009, 12:14:34 pm
Whiskey Business BBQ
WWW.Facebook.com/whiskeybusinessbbq

Weber 22-1/2 Silver
Twin Pro Q Excel 20s
Lang 84 Deluxe

squealers

welcome Rob, newbies here too ;) ;)
cheers,
Martin
#4 - November 10, 2009, 12:23:11 pm
Taboo BBQ
Spicy Mike, Martin, plus a newbie

KidCurry

Welcome!
#5 - November 10, 2009, 12:56:04 pm
KidCurry@AZBarbeque.com
KCBS CBJ
Mike boils his ribs....pass it on.

n2dabluebbq

welcome to the forum pebbles! one thing you might want to know is to beware of the thread jackers hahaha