AZ Barbeque.com

Controlling heat on charcoal

Discussion started on

Corvidae

So I am a BBQ newbie, but I have graduated from the $25 Walmart special grill to a Weber.  Holy cow does this thing cook!  The problem I have is with the Walmart grill I could put in 40 briquettes and it would have the right about of heat.  If I do that on the Weber I burn the food the minute it hits the grate!  I am trying to keep things at a medium heat level.  Any tips on how much charcoal to use?  Thanks!
#1 - May 28, 2012, 12:25:19 pm

Mark

I'm not a Weber user, but are you talking about a Weber Kettle for grilling or a WSM for smoking?
#2 - May 28, 2012, 03:18:34 pm
Mark Motta
Meatier Creator

THE COWBOY WAY, AZ

I use the WSM and I load it full for my big all night meats. I also have a PartyQ to control heat. Before i bought one it would take like an hour to get my temps just right. You need to leave top vent open and adjust with the lower vents , one at a time . I hold temp all night once I get where I need to be. All that info is for the WSM.
#3 - May 28, 2012, 07:59:20 pm
Jr

Crash

Like the others have asked...is it a WSM or a kettle style grill?  Also, are you truly BBQing or grilling?

If you are BBQing and your meat is getting burned quickly, you either have way too much heat or aren't using a heat diffuser of some sort (or both). 

I'm guessing your using a Weber One Touch.  If you are, try cooking indirectly with the fuel source moved to one side and the meat moved to the other side.

Keep us posted and best of luck.

#4 - May 29, 2012, 01:43:29 am
I love animals.  They're delicious!
VRM Pit Crew

Funtimebbq

As Crash stated, there are more questions we would need before giving you answers.  However, I will assume you are using a Weber Ketltle and grilling rather than smoking low and slow.