AZ Barbeque.com

Anyone have any info on a Weber-Stephens SJ-100?

Discussion started on

mojo

Hey all, I just purchased on Ebay a kettle grill that I am not sure of. Things I am sure of is 1)it is a Weber-Stephens grill it says so on the box. 2) it has 3 daisy vents in the top and 3 in the bottom. 3)it is a on a tri-pod with wheels.

This grill was found in a barn/storage building from an estate and was still in the box un opened but for the pictures to sell on ebay. I have been unable to find anything on the web other than a reference to it from a Popular Mechanics magazine from 1958.

I will be getting it within a few days but I was just wondering if anyone had any ideas. I called Weber and they said give them a serial # and they could help. but that will have to wait until I receive it.

Thanks Joe
#1 - September 15, 2009, 02:13:58 pm

AzJohnnyC

I'm not a huge expert, but an educated guess would be that it's possibly a Smoky Joe from the model number. Did they tell you the dimensions? They retail around thirty bucks, but if it's an antique, you could have a nice show piece there. Can't wait, fill us it when you get it!
#2 - September 15, 2009, 02:22:17 pm
Whiskey Business BBQ
WWW.Facebook.com/whiskeybusinessbbq

Weber 22-1/2 Silver
Twin Pro Q Excel 20s
Lang 84 Deluxe

mojo

AZjohnny you are all over it. It is a Smokey Joe ,infact the original Smokey Joe. Offered in the early 60's catalog another poster has. It is New Old Stock and I am hearing Weber might be interested in having a new old stock in this grill back for a trade.

Seller mailed it out today comming from Chitown to Northern Indiana shouldn't take long via UPS.

Pics as soon as it arrives
#3 - September 15, 2009, 07:08:21 pm

Mike (AZBarbeque)

Wow, very cool, can't wait to see some pictures of it..   Great find...
#4 - September 15, 2009, 07:14:10 pm
Michael J. Reimann
Realtor - Clients First Realty (Real Job) - www.TheReimannWay.com
Owner/President - AZBarbeque - #1 BBQ Club in Arizona