AZ Barbeque.com

Maiden Run with Stacker - Brisket

Discussion started on

RangerJurena

Thought I would give the new pit a run and try out a brisket.  10.5 lb Packer self trimmed.  Had lots of fat,is probably closer to 8lbs now.

Loaded up the Pro Q with a 9lb bag of Kingsford. Plenty of room for that.  My UDS will run 10 -12 hours with this amount of charcoal so I wanted to compare burn times. They are both vertical smokers so I'm interested to see.

While the coals were getting ready I rubbed the brisket down.

And the ProQ is smoking its way to temperature.  Which I must say is taking quite a bit longer than the UDS. I'm going to assume its due to there being a giant water pan full of water?  This is my first attempt at using a smoker with a water pan, so it will be a learning experience.  Its 8:00 and I've thought I would have this brisket on at 7:30, but the ProQ is at 190 degrees and slowly climbing.  My guess is if I took a stacker off it would be closer to temperature but I wanted to see what happened with all stackers on.

More to follow as the day progresses.

#1 - May 11, 2009, 08:10:42 am
2 Award Winning UDS's
Pappa Charlies Barbeque

RangerJurena

Well, either 9lbs is not enough or something is wrong.  Lit about 15 coals attempting the minion effect similar to the UDS. Added the wood and all the stackers and the lid.  3 bottom vents running wide open.

At 8:30, roughly one hour after lighting it was still at 180 -190.  So, I took one of the stackers off and it jumped to 200 with all vents open, so I figured we were on the way up and went ahead and put the brisket on, I usually start around 200 anyway.

45 minutes later, still with all 3 vents wide open, it will not go past 190.  And with all 3 valves open, I'm seeing no minion effect, I see all gray and burning charcoal and this leads me to believe I'm going to have to reload before this brisket is done or I should have added considerably more charcoal.
#2 - May 11, 2009, 09:15:58 am