AZ Barbeque.com

Bread

Discussion started on

Skouson

My mother started her kids baking bread at a very young age, so I've been doing this for almost 50 years.  I recently discovered No Knead Bread and made a batch yesterday and today.  This is without a doubt the best bread I've ever made.  The crust was so crisp you could hear it crackle when it was cooling off.  The crumb was both moist and very chewy.  The only ingredients were flour, water, salt and a 1/4 teaspoon of yeast.  It was so easy to make, and used very few dishes.  I'm hooked.

Skouson

#1 - January 05, 2012, 01:17:40 pm
Attachments:
Green Weber One-touch Platinum 22.5"
Green Weber One-touch Gold
Black Weber Silver Kettle 22.5"
Red Weber One-Touch Silver 22.5" (The Redhead)
Black Weber Silver 22.5" converted to a gasser pizza oven, on wheels
Weber 1970's vintage Bar-B-Kettle, converted to a rotisserie cooker
Twin UDS: Blue

Gizzy's Smokin Crew

Looks good....Nice Job
#2 - January 05, 2012, 01:32:40 pm
Gizzy's Q'N Crew......"FANG" Tastic BBQ
Brinkman Pitmaster Deluxe
Weber Genesis Gas Grill

Mark

Nice! :P I'm amazed you got that kind of rise out of 1/4 tsp of yeast. If you would, please give us the recipe.

I make bread quite often using my breadmaker to create the dough. My Kamados do a fine job of serving as a brick oven. But my standard french bread/pizza dough recipe is:
2 cups bread flour
1 cup water
1 tsp each yeast, sea salt, olive oil

For me the trick is high heat. I bake my baguettes and pizzas at 450-500 degrees.
#3 - January 05, 2012, 01:55:36 pm
Mark Motta
Meatier Creator

mustang

Nice! :P I'm amazed you got that kind of rise out of 1/4 tsp of yeast. If you would, please give us the recipe.

Here's the dutch oven version I use to bake no-knead bread.  The closed dutch oven provides the humidity required during the first half of baking.

http://www.motherearthnews.com/Easy-No-Knead-Bread-Video.aspx

P.S. Recipe and method are contained in the video.