AZ Barbeque.com

New Member in North Phoenix

Discussion started on

Rustekka (Iconoclast)

Hi, folks!

I'm a long-time BBQ fan finally getting truly serious about my cooking. I work in the food industry (though, not in BBQ yet!) and attend culinary school at night. I joined this site to find some like-minded folks, build some friendships, learn a thing or three, maybe start or join a team and support good food!

I'm in the process of building my starting recipes again (I'm going back to square one now that my general cooking skills are much stronger), including my sides, rubs, finish sauces, etc. I'm also going to build my own pit in a friend's backyard and am looking for any ideas or plans before I just to Home Depot and buy a bunch of cinder block...

Would love to attend some events locally and get to know some of you.

If anyone has any ideas on the pit or maybe where I can get material for the rack and fire box, please let me know. Oh, anyone looking for a good cook? I'm ready to roll!

Thanks!

Anton

#1 - February 19, 2012, 01:02:41 pm

Mark

BBQ Island over by Ikea is a great place to check out anything BBQ. And our club has about as many ways to smoke meat as we have members. For instance, I use ceramic cookers. Others use big offset cookers. And many more rely on the portability of WSMs...Weber Smokey Mountain. Check out of calendar for upcoming events. We look forward to meeting you soon. ;D
#2 - February 19, 2012, 04:23:36 pm
Mark Motta
Meatier Creator

azkitch

Welcome aboard, Anton. Obviously you intend to build a permanent pit in the back yard. I bought #9 X 3/4" expanded metal from Davis Salvage on Washington Street, in the vicinity of 30th St. This stuff has proven to be very durable in terms of holding the burning charcoal in 2 different pits, and is also used as cooking grates in many trailer smokers. I was buying remnants, but you can get it in 4 X 8 foot sheets.