AZ Barbeque.com

The Zdog Comes Barking

Discussion started on

z98dog

Hi Everyone!

I am excited join this group. I am a novice smoker, but love the smells, tinkering, but most of all...playing with fire!

I recently got a cheap price on a cheap smoker (Brinkmann 2-door vertical) and know I will soon upgrade. Gotta start somewhere I suppose. I already put too much money into it with mods trying to maintain a decent temp. Right now I am trying to figure out how to build/jury rig a side firebox so I can build real fires. If anyone runs across a decent rig for around $300 let me know.

I live in Scottsdale AZ, have 4 kids (2 at ASU), teach math and science (chemistry & environmental) for University of Phoenix, and enjoy BBQ. My wife maintains control of the gas grill, and that is ok with me. I want to build my abilities to the point where I make those lip smacking ribs and even smoke some jerky and cheese.

I look forward to learning from you all, and attending some events.

#1 - August 24, 2010, 08:51:12 pm
Brinkman Vertical - NBBD offset Horizonal - Custom cold smoke generator - Kingsford Oval Kettle - Pitmaster iQue 110 stoker - Weber OTS Kettle - Customized gas Pizza grill - Mini WSM-style smoker - UDS

AzJohnnyC

Welcome, Zdog!
#2 - August 24, 2010, 08:52:25 pm
Whiskey Business BBQ
WWW.Facebook.com/whiskeybusinessbbq

Weber 22-1/2 Silver
Twin Pro Q Excel 20s
Lang 84 Deluxe

n2dabluebbq

welcome  to the forum zdog. ya know, with 3hundred bones, you probably could find a decent offset on craigslist(especially in phoenix). hope you find all the information you need here and if i am lucky, maybe i'll be able to provide info for you too.
#3 - August 24, 2010, 08:58:43 pm
low and slow baby, low and slow

s.475 passed baby!           http://s801.photobucket.com/albums/yy291/n2dabluebbq/

z98dog

Thanks Glen,