AZ Barbeque.com

People look at me funny.

Discussion started on

BellyDoc

When I start to talk about barbecue, people look at me funny.  They don't get it.  It's frustrating.  Part of the problem is that most of them don't know the difference between grilling and smoking, but even for those who do, only some of them recognize the difference in time committment entailed.  No amount of explaining substitutes for experience.

I've been making true barbecue for about 5 years, ever since I began to max the capability of a simple grill using indirect heat.  However, I've cooked with fire for many many years.  When I used to spend months at a time travelling and camping in the mountains, my friends would be rehydrating freeze dried meals, while I'd be fire roasting whole chickens. 

Yesterday was my 41'st birthday.  By a totally unplanned lucky coincidence, the Lang smoker that I had ordered a few weeks prior arrived at my door.  It's replacing a tired but functional unit that I welded up out of a 55 gallon drum a couple of years back.  The Lang unit is gorgeous!  The internal baffle design is brilliant!  I immediately filled my FJ with pecan wood at Berry Bros. and got some excellent advice about using my new Lang.  I was also informed about the existence of this forum.

Tonight, when I get home, I'm starting a seasoning fire and conditioning the metal.  As soon as its ready, two briskets will go on.  Tomorrow morning, 6 racks of ribs will join the briskets and then by afternoon, a couple of chickens will go on, just for fun. 

Since I'm a committed barbecue nut and because I'm not going to stop trying to have conversations about my passion, I've joined this forum.  At least you people will understand me. 

...besides, if you look at me funny, I won't be able to see. ;)

#1 - July 06, 2007, 11:27:57 am

Mike (AZBarbeque)

Belly Doc,