AZ Barbeque.com

Hello AZ. BBQ'ers I can really use your help!!!

Discussion started on

thefoxman

Hello and thanks for the awesome site! What a cool idea! First of all, I love BBQ, I do alot of traveling and love to check out places all over. I am a teacher and recently our school budget has been stripped to the bare bones. I am also the athletic director of my school and the kids are getting jipped with the budget cuts. I love BBQ and I love to teach so, my next thought was a natural one. Why not have a community building BBQ contest to raise money for our sports program!   :)  I was wondering if all you BBQ experts out there could help me understand how a BBQ contest works. Things like time limit, who can enter, what kind of categories, awards, judges. Any info would help. I am hoping to make this a major event with live music and activities for the family. I am just not educated in the ways of the ancient art of BBQ contests. Help me snatch the pebble from your hand! Thank you in advance, I look forward to discussing it with all of you
#1 - June 09, 2009, 06:19:42 pm

azkitch

I think you've come to the right place. Our fearless leader, head rib boiler, chief organizing occiffer, Mike Reimann, has organized one or two competitions in his day. Where are you, and how grand a spectacle would you like to produce? There are several variations of a one day cookoff, involving many types of dishes. Have you got a location to gather the troops?

Oh, adding on now--welcome to the forum! Mike and others arrange regular get-togethers one way or another, if you're somewhere near Phx. Metro.
#2 - June 09, 2009, 07:12:47 pm
« Last Edit: June 09, 2009, 07:19:43 pm by azkitch »
CBJ # 53779
For cooking, lower and slower. For spices, mo' hotter, mo' better. Habaneros rule!

Crash

Welcome Mark.  I just replied to your email.

What kinds of things would we as BBQ Teams like to see/want/desire at a BBQ contest?  I am sure Mark will welcome any and all feedback.