AZ Barbeque.com

Greetings from NM

Discussion started on

RoyG

Greetings,

I have been away from my pit for awhile only smoking something occasionally for the last few years, but life has dealt me a new hand I'm thrilled to be Que'ing again!  I've got the fever pretty bad again.   ;D

I've been smoking since 2002.  I started on a 22.5" Weber Kettle.  Shortly thereafter, I purchased a Brinkman horizontal.  I found many shortcomings with it and, with the help of my mentor, made substantial modifications to it.  The Brinkman is an excellent performer now.

I currently have the Brinkman, 2 Weber kettles (lost the third one in a divorce...), and 3 gas grills.  And, I have the steel to make a large smoker this fall!   8)

Many moons ago I competed in the Rio Rancho, NM Pork & Brew.  My ribs and pork did very well.  I didn't turn my brisket in as directed (sliced or chopped) so it took a big drop in points for that.  My chicken was awful, and the judges agreed...   :laugh:

I am recently remarried and my wife loves the Que.  We made 3 briskets, 4 pork butts, and 2 turkeys for our reception.  This weekend I smoked 2 salmon fillets and some brats.  And, just last night she said she wants to go to a comp.  What a lucky man I am.

I look forward to getting to know many of you and learn more from the pit masters here.

Roy
#1 - July 06, 2015, 05:58:35 am

Mark

Glad to have you with us, Roy. Please post photos of your upcoming cooker in progress this fall. Everyone enjoying living vicariously through a new build!
#2 - July 06, 2015, 08:17:45 am
Mark Motta
Meatier Creator

mjnorton

If you are looking to go to a comp there is a good one in Holbrook on This Friday and Saturday JUly 10  7 11.  hope to see you there.
#3 - July 06, 2015, 04:22:34 pm

RoyG

Thanks MJ.  We appreciate the invitation, but we have a party for one of the grandkids this Saturday. 

She stated again tonight that she'd like to go to a comp.  We'll have to make some plans to attend one sometime this fall.