AZ Barbeque.com

Finger Licking Q - Oh My!

Discussion started on

Sagizona

Hello Everyone!

I guess I should introduce myself, i'm a 31 year old, married male from Sahuarita, have a wife and a 3-year old....oh crap, it's not one of those sites, barbecue, right.  JK!  I must give credit to a college buddy of mine, Rich Davis, who is the pitmaster of The Q Crew out of Minnesota.  He asked me to join him in Kansas for a competition and I was hooked.  Living in Sahurita, traveling back to the midwest gets a bit pricey, but I was able to make a 2nd comp in my hometown of Mason City, IA!  We took 1st in Anything Butt, had some awesome burgers that apparently the judges enjoyed.  I'm just getting started with my own collection, Rich was kind enough to give me a bottle of his rub, the wife bought me my fiirst bullet smoker and so i'm off to a slow start, but nonetheless, a start.  If there are any teams down here in AZ, specifically Tucson, that need an extra hand, a dishwasher, a coach, a...fill in the blank, please let me know as I'm totally stoked.  My wife and I have been here for over 5 years now, she's from Kansas City enjoys bbq, but isn't up for the comp thing, but enjoys whatever I make (that's a requirement of the wife duties, right?).  Since I live in Sahuarita, I'm guessing I can call many of you notherners that includes Tucson, so for you Northerners, if you ever make it to Tucson and want to eat some good bbq, contact me, we'll meet at Catalina BBQ company, by far, the best bbq i've had in Tucson and i'm also hankerin to go back.  BTW i'm in no way affiliated with them, just enjoy what they have, (service could be sped up a bit, but it's worth the wait....at least in Tucson).

So, Hope all is well, and I enjoy hearing from you all and meeting you at some of these tasty events!!!
Sage
#1 - August 14, 2010, 11:18:55 pm

Mike (AZBarbeque)