AZ Barbeque.com

Why Kingsford??

Discussion started on

Lizard333

I must be missing something here.....

I have been smoking and cooking for the last ten or twelve years and have only tried Brickets a couple of times.  The few time that I did use them, I could taste something funny in the meat.  And I know what you are thinking, the idiot used lighter fluid.  Thats not it.  I have always used a chimney.  I see people talking about what a great deal Home Depot has right now, and was wondering what you all were using it for??  Surely it doesn't make great BBQ??  Just my thoughts.  I have always used either chunk charcoal, oak or mesquite, or logs or chunks of pecan or mesquite or oak as fuel while either grilling or smoking. 

I am missing something??  I don't want to offend anyone, just looking for some answers.  Thanks.
#1 - May 27, 2009, 02:02:43 pm
Bueller... Bueller...  Bueller..........

Crash

I use K to cook and wood chunks for the smoke.  I swear by the stuff. 

As for K not making good BBQ, well I'd have to respectfully disagree with that.  Everyone has their preferences, and Blue Bag K is just what works for us.

#2 - May 27, 2009, 02:19:44 pm
I love animals.  They're delicious!
VRM Pit Crew

jim

Wood in the offset --- stay up all night watching the temp gauge - no sleep
K in the WSM --- light it -- up to temp -- go to bed
Lighter fluid --carry it with us to every contest - it's good luck -- liquid mojo.
Still chasing ----
jim
#3 - May 27, 2009, 02:53:50 pm

Jaybird

It's because Kingsford is the best briquettes we can get out here. We don't have Duraflame, Royal Oak or anything like that. I have used Kingsford for competition for 9 years now and along with wood chunks, I can say it does make good bbq.
I have used lump many many times but find that my way of cooking and the cookers that I use requires precise heat control. I do not get that with lump. It spikes in temp too much for my liking.