AZ Barbeque.com

Bought a FEC, now what do I use?!?

Discussion started on

bbqphx.com

After months of searching, I finally found a used FEC100 and picked her up in Orange County this past weekend.  I am a complete novice when it comes to pellet cookers, so looking for some advice on fuel.  What pellets do you recommend and why?  Do keep in mind I'm a proud member of the Cheapskates of America club :)
#1 - June 21, 2012, 08:59:09 am
Attachments:
Tracy-Head Chef and Mad Scientist
Weber Ranch Kettle
Two Weber Smokey Mountain 22.5"
Old School Weber Performer circa 1998
FEC100
http://www.bbqphx.com
Find BBQPHX sauce at Hobe Meats, Bull Market and Brooksie's

AzScott

AWWWW YEEEAAAAHHH!!!  FEC's are awesome.  Tracy I always run Fast Eddies hickory pellets but I also really like Green Mountain hickory pellets as well.  I didn't like the Lumberjack pellets at BBQ Island a year ago but hear they are shorter in size now.  I also just tried a bag of the BBQ Island private label last weekend and really liked them.  I think that you being cheap will love the FEC.  My fuel cost is around $10 for a competition in the summer and maybe $12 in the winter.  

If you need any help or have any questions, do not hesitate to ask.
#2 - June 21, 2012, 01:34:36 pm
14' R&O offset
FEC 100
3 L BGE's
1 Mini BGE

Competing since July 2010

AzScott

You got 3 rib racks as well!?!?!?!  Those are like $70 a pop.  You scored.
#3 - June 21, 2012, 01:35:58 pm
14' R&O offset
FEC 100
3 L BGE's
1 Mini BGE

bbqphx.com

Thanks Scott.  Yes, I can't really think of a time that I'll have a use for three rib racks but one never knows.  Hopefully I'll get the chance to fire up the FEC this weekend!
And by the way it's cheapskate, not cheap  :P
#4 - June 21, 2012, 02:29:30 pm
Weber Ranch Kettle
FEC100

AzScott

Sure Tracy.  If you would rather be a cheapskate I can live with that.  I do know that Justin would be interested in one or two of the rib racks.
#5 - June 21, 2012, 04:17:45 pm
14' R&O offset
FEC 100