AZ Barbeque.com

Considering a UDS smoker

Discussion started on

JaySyn

I am fairly new to smoking, but have thrown chips on the coals on the old charcoal grill quite a few times.  I have been looking around at some smokers, but for some reason, I am really liking the idea of a UDS over a commercial smoker.  I have been looking around to find a drum to use for it, but I could use some pointers as far as getting rid of any lining if I happen to get my hands on a "food grade" drum.  I had seen one site recommend breaking apart some pallets and throwing the wood in it and setting it ablaze, and letting it burn for a while.  I was talking to azjohnnyc, who mentioned that pallets would be a bad idea because the wood is treated.  I don't want anything getting inside it that would render it unsafe to cook in.  I may look into getting my hands on some fire wood, but I am looking for any other suggestions you guys might have.  I am also wanting to get the vents on it set up right.  I have seen some sites recommend a lid from a Weber Kettle grill, so I will be looking for one of those (Home Depot, maybe?), but different sites say different things about the vent holes in the bottom.  I have even seen some say to use a ball valve to control the airflow, but would like all the advice I can get from someone who has experience with these.

I am also looking for some suggestions for a fuel basket in the bottom, but I think I may be able to fabricate something for that pretty easily.
#1 - December 31, 2012, 03:05:27 pm

skou

Jay, (Jeremiah) look for some of my brother's posts in this section.  (He's Skouson here)
He (we) build a converted 55 gallon drum, into a smoker.  Cut the top off, use a Weber
kettle lid, and put 3 vents in the bottom.  Gives you 2 grill heights, one at 2 inches below
the rim, and another at 8 inches below the rim.  (That's enough room for 6 Boston
Butts, or 10 racks of ribs.)  Use the charcoal grate to make a basket, and it will burn for
16 (or so) hours.